Chloé Sainte-Marie
Chloé Sainte-Marie

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
Chloé Sainte-Marie
Chloé Sainte-Marie

press to zoom
1/5

CHLOÉ SAINTE-MARIE

Chloé Sainte-Marie first came to public attention in the 1980s through the movies of the filmmaker Gilles Carle. In 1999, she began her career as a performer, during which she recorded seven albums, mainly devoted to Quebec poetry, and reviving all the languages of the territory: Latin, Innu, Inuktituk, Mohawk, Cree, Explorite and Creole.

In parallel to her artistic activity, Chloé Sainte-Marie took care of her husband Gilles Carle, who suffers from Parkinson's disease. In 2007, she had the idea of working on a social project: that of bringing together sick people and their caregivers, taking turns and sharing the task in order to give each other a break.

 

In 2022, Chloé will return to the stage with her new show, which will follow the album Maudit silence, produced by Audiogram. Maudit silence, gathers 18 poems from the Three Americas, through 13 native and creole languages. Innu poet Joséphine Bacon will open the album with a poem dedicated to missing indigenous women. It was Joséphine Bacon who introduced Chloé Sainte-Marie to the Innu language several years ago, and the poet has long been a part of Chloé Sainte-Marie's artistic work (Mishapan Nitassinan and the album Nitshisseniten e Tshissenitamin - Je sais que tu sais), which uses her art to give voice to indigenous texts. Yves Desrosiers will set all the songs on this new album to music, accompanied by Philippe Cyr on stage direction. 

BOOKING

 

Gina Brault
514.351.8832
ginabrault@impresaria.ca

Maude St-Amand
514.632.7395
maude@impresaria.ca

Julie Richard
booking@impresaria.ca

MANAGEMENT

Gina Brault

514.351.8832

ginabrault@impresaria.ca

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/4

CHLOÉ SAINTE-MARIE

C’est d’abord par le cinéma, dans les années 1980, que Chloé Sainte-Marie est connue du public, grâce au cinéaste Gilles Carle. En 1999, elle commence sa carrière d'interprète, au cours de laquelle elle enregistre sept albums essentiellement voués à la poésie québécoise. Au passage, elle fait revivre toutes les langues du territoire ; le latin, l’innu, l’inuktituk, le mohawk, le cri, l’exploréen et le créole.

Parallèlement à son activité artistique, Chloé Sainte-Marie prend soin de son conjoint Gilles Carle, atteint de la maladie de Parkinson. C’est en 2007, au plus haut point de l’épuisement, qu’elle a l’idée d’œuvrer sur un projet de société : celui de réunir personnes malades et leurs aidants se relayant et se partageant la tâche afin de se donner à tous, un souffle, un répit.

 

En 2022, Chloé fera un retour sur scène avec son nouveau spectacle qui suivra l’album Maudit silence, produit chez Audiogram. Maudit silence, rassemble 18 poèmes issus des Trois Amériques, à travers 13 langues autochtones et créoles. C’est la poète innu Joséphine Bacon qui ouvrira l’album avec un poème dédié aux femmes autochtones disparues. C’est d’ailleurs Joséphine Bacon qui a initié Chloé Sainte-Marie à la langue innu il y a plusieurs année, et la poète est depuis longtemps présente dans le travail artistique (Mishapan Nitassinan et l’album Nitshisseniten e Tshissenitamin - Je sais que tu sais) de Chloé Sainte-Marie, qui utilise son art pour donner la voix aux textes autochtones. Yves Desrosiers mettra en musique tous les chants de ce nouvel album, accompagné de Philippe Cyr à la mise en scène. 

BOOKING

 

Gina Brault
514.351.8832
ginabrault@impresaria.ca

Maude St-Amand
514.632.7395
maude@impresaria.ca

Julie Richard
booking@impresaria.ca

GÉRANCE

Gina Brault

514.351.8832

ginabrault@impresaria.ca